Our Vision and Mission

rOpenSci fosters a culture that values open and reproducible research using shared data and reusable software.

We do this by:
  • Creating technical infrastructure in the form of carefully vetted, staff- and community-contributed R software tools that lower barriers to working with scientific data sources on the web

  • Creating social infrastructure through a welcoming and diverse community

  • Making the right data, tools and best practices more discoverable building capacity of software users and developers and fostering a sense of pride in their work

  • Building capacity of software users and developers and fostering a sense of pride in their work

  • Promoting advocacy for a culture of data sharing and reusable software.

rOpenSci is a non-profit initiative founded in 2011 by Karthik Ram, Scott Chamberlain, and Carl Boettiger to make scientific data retrieval reproducible. Over the past six years we have developed an ecosystem of open source tools, we run annual unconferences, and review community developed software.

Meet our Team

Karthik Ram
Scott Chamberlain
Jeroen Ooms
Stefanie Butland
Stacy Dorton
Carl Boettiger
Jenny Bryan
Rich FitzJohn
Hadley Wickham
JJ Allaire
Mackenzie Smith
Matt Jones
Nico Cellinese
Ted Hart

Meet our collaborators

Our collaborators include Associate Editors of our open peer review system, people whose packages have been reviewed and onboarded to rOpenSci, reviewers of two or more packages, and others who have contributed significant time and effort to rOpenSci.

Noam Ross
Maëlle Salmon
Simon Goring
David Winter
Sara Varela
Vijay Brave
Rafael Maia
Barb Banbury
Thomas Leeper
Ed Szöcs
Toby Hocking
Javier Gonzalez
Najko Jahn
David Springate
Stefan Widgren
Brian O' Meara
Ciera Martinez
Martin Fenner
Gavin Simpson
Ben Marwick
Barry Rowlingson
Jeff Hollister
Ethan White
Karl Broman
Alex Harkess
Lincoln Mullen
Hilmar Lapp
Rutger Vos
Matt Pennell
Gabor Csardi
Abaghan Ghahraman
Chris Ray
Tad Dallas
Lee Marsh
Oliver Keyes
Kyle Hamilton
Francois Michonneau
Franz Krah
Will Pearse
Stefan Bache
Julia Gustavsen
Kevin Ushey
Robin Lovelace
Javier Otegui
David Robinson
Peter Meissner
Mark Padgham
Gordon Shotwell
Tony Fischetti
Joseph Brown
Andy South
Elaine McVey
Danton Noriega-Goodwin
Jaime Ashander
Gabe Becker